Monochrome Madness 2-41

Dear Scotland, I miss you!

My contribution to Leanne Cole’s Monochrome Madness, this weeks comes from my collection of images of one of my favourite cities in the world, Edinburgh, Scotland  ( Go figure!)

Edinburgh my lovebright
Edinburgh, my love

And oh those Scottish Skies!, though often cloudy I never have seen the clouds open and spill so much light over the landscape in constant changing patterns. It’s a photographer’s dream and certainly makes up for the inclement weather that changes every five minutes.

and here are two more from the promenade on the Firth of Forth and an old Tudor house from the Holyrood Grounds.

edinburgh promenade
Portobello Beach Promenade

Tudor house

my scotland2a
Scotland’s Fickle Weather and Fantastic Light

44 Comments Add yours

  1. DG MARYOGA says:

    Oh,dear,oh dear Cybele,I almost missed this wonderful Scotland post!Fascinating photos and gorgeous words to descibe this distinguished part of the world!Perfect use of light in your photography,you so efficiently render the capricious Scottish weather.I share your feelings,this holy land has a very special part in my heart 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. we are there in spirit!! Thank you so much Doda! Good to hear from you! My posting has slowed down a lot as I have been house hunting!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. DG MARYOGA says:

        I know about it,I hope you soon make the right decision.Posting?What’s that?I have been trying very hard to catch up,I have to sort out some 600 more e-mails 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I hear you!! lol

        Liked by 1 person

  2. pattimoed says:

    The sepia tones and b&w are perfect for these shots! Beautiful images, as always, Cybele!

    Like

    1. thank you so much Patti!!

      Like

  3. Ali Isaac says:

    Ah Cybele, I think you would love Ireland, then! These are stunning images, as always.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ali! I love Ireland. I can never say which country I love more,Scotland or Ireland and it always depends on which one I am in at the time lol!! Here is one of my posts from the magical isle. https://cybeleshineblog.wordpress.com/2014/09/21/a-few-wanderings-on-the-magic-isle/

      Like

  4. Absolutely gorgeous! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Maverick ~ says:

    Great skies indeed, well done Cybele.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thanks Maverick!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Mél@nie says:

    I miss Scotland, in general and Edinburgh, in particular… ❤
    * * *
    merci pour ce post, DéMé! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you for visiting Melanie!! Yes to Edinburgh!

      Like

  7. Amy says:

    Love how you took and process these photos. So well done, Cybele! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. many thanks Amy!

      Like

  8. The light in your photos is really wonderful, Cybele. That first misty image is a winner, and the skies are so moody and lowering. Fantastic. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you Sylvia!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Those are wonderful skies Cybele 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yes I love those Scottish skies!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Peter Nena says:

    A sky like that of Edinburgh in the first photo. Quite broody. Nice for a little ghostly story by the fireplace.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. it does!! or as someone else said- reminds them of Mary Poppins lol! Thank you Peter!!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. pkphotooftheday says:

    I love the way you capture Scotland! The love shows through.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. These are gorgeous! I love the way you work with light!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. many thanks Robert!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Carrie says:

    Dreamy skies! The first, although I know it is not London, reminds me of a rooftop Mary Poppins might enjoy wandering along 🙂 The light in the last is stunning too. Gorgeous, Cybele. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree!! chim chimney 😀 Thank you Carrie!

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Lovely buildings, and architecture! I love the mood of the top image. I’d love to visit Scotland one day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. oh it is quite magical ( and Ireland too) Thanks Deb!!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Your first image has an eerie yet magical appeal.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I get that feeling too! Thank you Sally!

      Like

  16. Maria F. says:

    I like the contrast on these!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thanks so much Maria!

      Like

  17. alexraphael says:

    So atmospheric

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you Alex!

      Liked by 1 person

  18. No wonder great tales, songs and story tellers come from here. Thoughts seep into one from the environment. Lovely images

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you fellow mouse!! And I so agree!!

      Like

  19. robert87004 says:

    Unfortunately, I only had one day there and didn’t get to the firth….excellent photos. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. oh there is just so much and so little time! Thanks Robert!

      Like

  20. smilecalm says:

    it may be madness
    but still looks like
    your home 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you smilecalm!!

      Like

  21. sheldonk2014 says:

    Very surreal
    My kind of image

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thanks Sheldon! mine too!

      Like

Come on , don't be afraid to squeak up!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.