Cee Neuner’s Black and White challenge

Cee’s Black & White Photo Challenge: Music – People, instruments, sheet music, audio devices

My younger brother, among many other things was a musician, so these well worn drumsticks hold a special place at my house in a little shrine with the Buddha and Ganesh.  He was both a free and yet fragile spirit who loved his horses,-and the drums, to the beat of which he lived and traveled, spending time in the far east.  The Buddha and  a happy Ganesh went everywhere with him. Om mane padme hum.

drumsticks and Ganesh

“Though fire be mixed with my dust yet care I not, for now all is well with me”

penny whistle
My Penny (Tin) whistle

 “Oh Come ye back when summer’s in the meadow”

drummer sketch2

“We miss you so”

(I played in Topaz Sketch Effect with this older photo -“On the Kit”)

Dedicated to my brother, and to songs and rhythms past that still play in our hearts

Thank you Cee Neuner for the challenge, and for reminding me of the music

43 Comments Add yours

  1. Maria F. says:

    Beautiful Cybele.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful and special tribute, Cybele.

    Like

    1. thank you so much Linda, and your family is in my thoughts!!

      Like

      1. Bless you, Cybele! ❤

        Like

  3. Great tribute here, in particular the well-worn drumsticks! 🙂

    Like

    1. thanks so much Christy!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. poppytump says:

    You’ve put together your memories in a beautiful and meaningful way here Cybele .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thanks so much Poppy!!

      Like

  5. offshoots12 says:

    Such a nostalgic feel to these. Nice work!

    Like

    1. thanks so much!!

      Like

  6. What a moving tribute, Cybele, both the words and the pictures. The quote, “Though fire be mixed with my dust yet care I not, for now all is well with me”, says so much and is strangely comforting. Your brother looks from his photo here (and the one in your blog’s sidebar) such a gentle and sensitive soul, but I sense an otherworldliness about him even as he lived. I’m not surprised you miss him so.

    Like

    1. What a lovely comment Sarah, as usual!! I do appreciate it and what a lovely and interesting observation about him- although he was funny as all get out. He had a bit of a bent sense of humour that kept us in stitches!! He’ll be around again somewhere I know. Isn’t that a beautiful quote! I agree.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Cee Neuner says:

    You have some wonderful photos for this week’s theme. Thanks 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you Cee!!

      Like

  8. Beautiful B&W collection shot Cybele.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much Della!

      Like

  9. Peter Nena says:

    I love the quote. “Though fire be mixed with my dust yet care I not, for now all is well with me”

    Like

    1. It is one of my favourites and it suited him well. Thanks so much Peter!!

      Like

    1. thank you very much for coming by and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. suej says:

    Love these macro images, marvellous what shallow DOF can do…..

    Like

    1. yes, I like it too. Thanks Sue!!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. What a beautiful tribute to your brother. I lost a brother who was just beginning his own life. I think of him all the time.

    My son was a drummer in school band beginning in 6th grade and he played all through high school. He stopped playing in school bands in college, but to this day he keeps his sticks and pad within easy reach.

    The drums were a Godsend during his 14th year when all he was scowl. I would tell him to go take it out on his drums and he would.
    I was so happy to have my happy young man back the next year!

    I love your macro image! The shallow focus works so well, and I’m sucker for good Bokeh. xx

    Like

    1. what a lovely comment Deborah and so sorry for your loss too. But they live on in our memories,- and how wonderful about your son. Yes, music can soothe the savage teenage beast!! 😀 Beating the drums is a great outlet and can be wonderfully zen too. Taiko drumming is incredible!! Thanks for your reply Deb!!

      Like

  12. lauramacky says:

    Beautiful tribute.

    Like

    1. thanks so much Laura!!

      Like

      1. lauramacky says:

        You’re welcome :)))

        Like

      2. it’s funny how things can just trigger a flood of memories. And many are good ones!!

        Like

      3. lauramacky says:

        Isn’t it? I get triggered a lot by smells. Hmm wouldn’t it be fun to do a challenge on smells? lol

        Like

      4. haha!! Actually smells do trigger images but that would be a challenge!! You might need to invent a scratch and smell photo!!

        Like

      5. lauramacky says:

        lol…they do! Like what if there was a challenge that said, post a photo of a smell that reminds you of childhood? I’d post something of grass because that’s what reminds me of my childhood. Oh and horse poop lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. lol!! Granddad’s dog for me!! and hot scones cooking!

        Liked by 1 person

      7. go for it Laura- I’d play!!

        Like

      8. lauramacky says:

        Thank you! Maybe I will in a month or so. Sounds kinda fun!

        Like

  13. Maverick ~ says:

    Wonderful images and sentiments.

    Like

    1. thank you Maverick!!

      Like

  14. DG Hardy says:

    YES!

    Like

  15. A beautiful post! You have such a talent!

    Like

    1. An honour coming from you Naomi, thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

Come on , don't be afraid to squeak up!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.