What is beautiful to me – Cee Neuner’s Challenge

Cee Neuner’s Black and white challenge

I have just returned from another visit to Bonny Scotland and Ireland, and family there .  Oh, the light!!! It is truly a photographer’s dream. Here are a few photos (I have a kazillion and more of these two beautiful countries)- but these are of the wonderful town of Old Edinburgh.

  What is beautiful to me:

 Edinburgh, my love

Edinburgh  my love monochrome
Scotland’s beautiful light
our bobby
the story of wee Bobby

I’m not sure if children in North America today read this true story (Greyfriar’s Bobby)  but he is known as “our Bobby” in Scotland.  He lived in Grefriars,  Edinburgh in the mid 1800’s and is an example of  poignant loyalty and devotion that surpasses understanding. He is  buried next to his owner, “Auld Jock” in the kirkyard.

edinburgh street
walking through the streets of Edinburgh (infrared

 

princes street gardens
Princes Street Gardens

Click on the journeys and travels tab on the top menu for more magical views of my Scotland and Ireland!

47 Comments Add yours

  1. dbp49 says:

    Some beautiful shots from a beautiful country. Thank-you for the views, you made wonderful use of the light that you obviously appreciate. Thanks again.

    Like

    1. thank you and yes the light in Scotland is fantastic. Maybe you will pop by my other posts on Scotland. It’s a photographer’s dream there for sure! – and Ireland!

      Like

  2. eLPy says:

    Really beautiful, and congratulations on being featured. I can absolutely see why it’s so beautiful to you. Never been myself but I get a nice sense of it through your pics. I love the dreamy feel, or even the I’m a vampire walking through the streets at night/I can see in the dark effect provided by the infrared, very special.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. I so appreciate your thoughtful words and compliment!! Infrared is very interesting and yes- quite goth!!! Thanks so much for your visit. Come by anytime!

      Like

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    Congratulations! I have selected this post to be featured on Cee’s Black & White Photo Challenge.
    http://ceenphotography.com/2014/10/16/cees-black-white-challenge-reflections-and-shadows/
    I hope you are having a terrific week.

    Like

    1. I am thrilled and honoured Cee!! So many great submissions!!! Thank you!

      Like

      1. Cee Neuner says:

        The pleasure was all mine. 🙂

        Like

  4. Peter Nena says:

    I like the portrait of “our Bobby.”

    Like

  5. Beautiful photos Cybele, I’ve got a soft spot for Bobby in particular 🙂

    Like

    1. Glad to know you do too!! Thank you Andrea!!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. You have been busy with your camera in Edinburgh. I love those photos, and agree with Robert about the first one in particular.

    Like

    1. Yes I do like that one too Sarah!! Thanks!!

      Like

  7. ♡eM says:

    Oh! Cybele, your photographs and words remind me of my wish to be off on holiday, to once again trod upon my Da’s homeland, to breathe in that ancestral, magical sense of belonging, and somehow connect with those long since gone.

    Like

    1. I know!! And having connections to both Scotland and Ireland I never know which I love best- whichever place I’m in at the time!! lol. thanks so much for your visit!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Allan G. Smorra says:

    Your B&Ws are beautiful and I love your use of lighting. I feel as if I am in an eclipse.

    Like

    1. I’m honoured by your comment!! Thanks so much Allan!

      Like

  9. katieprior says:

    Beautiful pictures Cybele, I can see that Scotland is beautiful to you. I love that first one, very moody!

    Like

    1. My heart is still there Katie!! and I have other journeys to fulfill too! Thanks so much for your comment.

      Like

  10. Beautiful images, so dreamy and mysterious, feels like some old Victorian book’s illustrations.

    Like

    1. Lore, this is so strange!! Two of your comments ended up in the spam folder!! I don’t know why!! Thank you for your always beautiful comments!!

      Like

      1. I noticed that too, some comments ending up in my spam folder. No worries.

        Like

  11. suej says:

    Love that first image, Cybele and the infrared…..

    Like

  12. And these photos are beautiful to me, too! 🙂

    Like

    1. thank you Linda!! You must visit there soon!!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. kazg10 says:

    Lovely photos Cybele they could have been taken 100 years ago, they have that feel. I remember Black friars Bobby from the movie by Disney as a child and can still hear that mans Scottish lilt, cannot remember the actors name though. 🙂

    Like

    1. thank you Kaz!! I love your comment! As for Bobby-Wasn’t that the sweetest film!!?

      Liked by 1 person

  14. lauramacky says:

    Stunning B&W! And dreamy as usual. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks so much my friend!!

      Like

      1. lauramacky says:

        You’re welcome 🙂

        Like

  15. All wonderful but I agree the first one is a stunner 🙂

    Like

    1. Always happy when you pop over Lisa!! Thank you!!

      Like

  16. Maria F. says:

    I love this monochrome sculpture shots.

    Like

    1. Thank you Maria!! It’s an interesting effect!

      Like

  17. Suzanne says:

    these are all moody evocative images – all very interesting. The last one really gives that sense of the solidity and age of the stone buildings.

    Like

    1. I’m always happy to have a comment from you Suzanne!! Thanks for visiting again!!

      Like

      1. Suzanne says:

        Likewise 🙂

        Like

  18. Robyn G says:

    Welcome home 🙂
    All wonderful images, but the first one is fantastic!
    Sounds like you enjoyed your trip.

    Like

    1. Thank you Robin – though my heart is still in the Highlands ( ala Robbie Burns!!)

      Like

  19. Cee Neuner says:

    Stunning black and white photography. Thanks.

    Like

    1. thanks cee!! I forgot to add Princes Street Garden photo which I just did !! I’m never organized!!

      Like

  20. I like the lead image –

    Like

    1. me too Robert!! thanks!

      Like

Come on , don't be afraid to squeak up!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.