The Light in the Highlands

Connectivity problems in the Highlands have been ongoing and I hope to catch up with you all in time. Thank you all for your wonderful comments and I have been checking posts when I can!

I finally got online at my B&B  on the Isle of Skye so am posting these of our road trip through mountain and glen. I have more but I don’t know if I can get online tomorrow!

Never have I seen weather change so dramatically from sunny and warm to a freezing rain in the matter of moments- but oh! the landscape is glorious. Amidst the mists and shadows, light seems to suddenly turn on and shine up from inside the earth, as well as pouring from cracks in the clouds, to illuminate water surface, field and hill.

Kinnoul Hill

The view from Kinnoul Hill in Perth overlooking the River Tay

From the Black Isle and the Moray Firth to Loch Alsh and the castle of Eilean Donan. The castle was built in the 1200s by the Mackenzie family, destroyed during the Jacobite rebellions of the 1700’s, and restored in the 20th century.

and a few monochrome – one of which I submitted to Leanne Cole’s MM 2-23.  Dundee to the Black Isle – from Scott’s ill fated antarctic expedition, to the Pictish stones of Rosemarkie and the ruins of a 13th century abbey in Fortrose on the Black Isle

